The DVSA Theory Test for Motorcyclists: What you Need to Know

Before you take the DVSA theory test for motorcyclists, you will need to have a provisional motorcycle licence. Once you have the provisional licence, you can book your theory test.

There are two parts to the theory test:

  • Hazard perception
  • Multiple-choice questions

You can choose to book both of these tests together, should you wish to. Please note, you will need to pass both of these parts in order to pass the DVSA motorcycle test.

Who can Take the Theory Test?

You can take the theory test:

  • When you turn 16 years old and if you want to ride a moped that is no more than 50cc.
  • When you turn 17 years old and if you want to ride a motorcycle.

You will need to take compulsory basic training. However, it’s up to you whether you take the theory test before or after you do the basic training.

Revision and Practice

There is software and books available so you can revise for and practise the theory test.

You can find more information about the hazard perception practice test at GOV.UK.

Regarding the multiple-choice questions, you can buy 3 books that will help you. These are:

  • Know your Traffic Signs
  • Riding – The Essential Skills
  • The Highway Code

The Hazard Perception Test

You will be shown a video that explains how the Hazard Perception Test works. You will then be shown 14 clips. Each of the clips shows developing hazards. 1 clip shows 2 developing hazards, the rest shows just 1.

It’s up to you to spot the hazards as soon as they begin.

The Multiple-choice Questions

You will be given 50 questions to answer, and 57 minutes to answer them. Before the test starts you will be told how it works and you’ll also be shown some practice questions.

When you are taking this test you will be shown a case study. It’s then up to you to choose the correct answer.

Passing the Tests

You will get your test results once you have taken the test. Please note, you will need to pass both of these parts in order to pass the DVSA motorcycle test.

Hazard Perception Test – Pass mark is 43 points with a maximum of 50 points available.

Multiple-choice Test - Pass mark is 44 points with a maximum of 75 points available.

If you pass the tests you will receive a pass certificate number. You will be given this at the test centre. You will need to book your motorcycle test within 2 years of receiving the pass certificate number. If you do not take the test within 2 years, you will have to take the theory test again.

If you fail the tests, you will be told how you failed so you can practice them. You can book the test again but you need to wait at least 3 working days.

Send a Comment